Washing Up: Fingerplay

I’m Gonna Wash My Hands to Stop the Germs
Adapted by CK Emanuel
To the Tune of: “I’m Gonna Wash That Man Right Outa My Hair” from South Pacific

I’m gonna wash those germs right off of my hands
SCRUB HANDS TOGETHER
I’m gonna wash those germs right off of my hands
I’m gonna wash those germs right off of my hands
and stay healthy and strong.
MAKE MUSCLES ARMS ON EITHER SIDE OF HEAD

Original Song: found in South Pacific, composed by Oscar Hammerstein II and Richard Rodgers

Post includes a longer version.

Participation Age: 17 months to 6 years old

Skills Utilized/Reinforced: Hygiene, STEAM (Germs), Health

Possible Modifications: For a slightly longer take with more details in the washing process, consider using instead:

I’m gonna soap my hands and scrub real good
MOVE ONE HAND AS IF PUMPING SOAP FROM A DISPENSER ONTO OTHER PALM
RUB HANDS TOGETHER
I’m gonna soap my hands and scrub real good
I’m gonna soap my hands and scrub real good
and stop those nasty germs
HAND UP WITH PALM FACING OUT

I’m gonna rinse my hands then wipe them dry
HANDS TOGETHER PALMS UP AS IF UNDER WATER
ALTERNATE RUNNING FLAT HAND AGAINST OPPOSITE HAND
I’m gonna rinse my hands then wipe them dry
I’m gonna rinse my hands then wipe them dry
and stop those nasty germs
HAND UP WITH PALM FACING OUT

Themes: Wellness, Staying Healthy, Feeling Better, Getting Sick, Clean/Messy, Washing, Body

Leave a Reply

