Vegetable: Fingerplay or Action Activity

A Vegetable in Autumn
By CK Emanuel

I’ve grown, grown, grown,
START HANDS TOGETHER, SPREAD FARTHER AND FARTHER APART
Till I am fat, fat, fat,
PAT BELLY
Pick me, pluck me,
POINT TO GROUND AT IMAGINARY VEGETABLE
MAKE MOTION AS IF PULLING FROM PLANT
Cook me, eat me,
MAKE A CIRCLE WITH FIST  AS IF USING A SPOON TO     STIR A  FRYING PAN.
BRING HANDS TO MOUTH AS IF EATING
Or I’ll rot, rot, rot!
DROP SHOULDERS, SLOUCH, AND MAKE A SAD FACE

Read on for the movements to change into action activity.

Participation Age Range: 15 months to 8 years

Skills Utilized/Reinforced: Fine motor skills ; STEM/STEAM (vegetable life cycle) ; Science ; Knowledge of food preparation

Possible Modifications: May also work well as an action activity. Possible actions include:
I’ve grown, grown, grown,
     START CROUCHED ON FLOOR AND GROW UP “STRAIGHT”
Till I am fat, fat, fat,
     HANDS ON BELLY SPREAD THE AWAY FROM BODY
Pick me, pluck me,
     POINT TO GROUND AT IMAGINARY VEGETABLE
     MAKE MOTION AS IF PULLING FROM PLANT
Cook me, eat me,
     MAKE A CIRCLE WITH FIST  AS IF USING A SPOON TO STIR A  FRYING PAN.
     BRING HANDS TO MOUTH AS IF EATING
Or I’ll rot, rot, rot!
     SLOUCH, KNEEL, DROP TO THE FLOOR

Themes: Vegetables , Harvest, Growing, Food, Cooking

Leave a Reply

