Mozart Played Piano: Clapping Song

Author Unknown; Adapted by CK Emanuel
To the tune of B-I-N-G-O

There was a boy by name of Mozart,
who liked to play piano.
P-I-A-N-O, P-I-A-N-O, P-I-A-N-O
Mozart played piano.

Repeat 2nd time, clap instead of saying the letter P. Keep repeating and replacing a letter with a clap until there is no more letters left in PIANO.

Source of Original Content: “Songs and Fingerplays.” Musical Instruments. Accessed 2.4.15. http://elainekabigting.weebly.com/songs-rhymes-and-finger-plays.html


Why an Adaptation and What Changes Were Made?: I loved concept of highlighting Mozart and the piano as set to the tune of B-I-N-G-O. However, when I originally sang it out, I had difficulty stay true to B-I-N-G-O’s beat. The first line was modified so that it flowed a bit better for me. Because I was making modifications anyway, the second line was modified so that the tune’s “plot” structure closer resembles the “plot” of B-I-N-G-O.

The original B-I-N-G-O tune

There was a farmer who had a dog,
    And Bingo was his name-o.
B-I-N-G-O, B-I-N-G-O, B-I-N-G-O
    And Bingo was his name-o.

Participation Age Range: 2 years to 8 years

Skills Utilized/Reinforced: Fine motor skill (Clapping) ; Music History ; Music Instrument Name ; Spelling ; Letter Recognition

Possible Modifications: When I led this activity during storytime, I had felt letters spelling out PIANO, and putting to the letters during the refrain. I also had an image of a piano and well as Mozart.

A possible modification would be to spell out PIANO with American Sign Language, eventually replacing the sign letters with a clap.

For the 2 years, I concentrated on showcasing what a piano looked like and briefly acted out an “air piano” to show how it was played. For the 3-5 year olds, we discussed a bit more about pianos and briefly introduced Mozart as a man who wrote music songs who lived a long time ago. For the 5-8 year olds, a longer Mozart bio was given.

Mozart’s Biography as Used on the Storytime Handout:  Mozart was a famous composer who lived from 1756 to 1791. In his short life span, he wrote over 600 songs.  (Source:  Politoske, D. T. “Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus.” World Book Online InfoFinder. World Book, 2015. Web. 5 Feb. 2015. )

Themes: Music ; Instruments ; Play ; History ; Songs ; Letters

Leave a Reply

